Grad School

Books, books and more books…the story of my life right now!

It’s hard to believe that today is the last day of September!  September has been filled with birthdays, a new nephew, football games and oh one more thing BOOKS.  I guess you can say I’m “settled in” to grad school now.  My “rhythm” consists of pretty much reading every minute that I’m not eating/sleeping/or taking [necessary] planned time off to actually hang out with the hubs/friends/family.  But really…I mostly read.  Oh, and write papers.  And I go to class and discuss the books.  Maybe I sound like I’m complaining.  But really, I am loving it.  The reading is so interesting and the seminar discussions are great.  The paper due dates come around like the fast and furious – but I’m digging in and getting them done.  The anxiety has been REAL and fierce when I look ahead to how much work I need to do, and also feel the real struggle to invest my time in what’s even more important than school – the Lord, my husband, friends, family, the church.  I guess you could say I am (and Dylan and I both are) walking in the tension.  We’re figuring out how to prioritize…and some days are better than others.

But on a lighter note – I thought I’d share some fun(ny) things about grad school  (compared to undergrad).

1. Orientation does not involve water balloons, costumes or ice cream.  But thankfully, it did involve pizza and beer….so really…I’m not complaining.

2. Undergraduate final papers (those 10-15 page ones) become weekly assignments in grad school.

3. I read the words teleological, epistemology, pejorative and historiography on a daily basis.  Other that historiography, I am pretty sure these words were not in my undergraduate vocabulary.

4. I actually read the footnotes.

5. The majority of my day consists of reading and writing instead of coffee & lunch dates and just “hanging out.”

All right, speaking of consisting of reading and writing.  It is time for me to get back to some work!

-L

About nassfam

Newly married, living in the city, striving towards oneness, figuring out what we want to do when we grow up, loving Jesus in all things.
This entry was posted in School. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

